Friday, 4 March 2011

Chinese Feast Fit For Two by Bettsie


I adore Eastern food. I wanted to learn to cook Asian cuisine as I cannot eat take away. I find it sweet, gooey and it always makes me sick. I say NO to MSG! My first attempt was a Chinese feast fit for two. As anybody who knows me will know, I do not do things by halves. 

Extravagance and food go hand in hand. Ribs, prawn toast, chow mein, gluten free crispy beef, green coconut curry, tempura vegetables, dips (home made), satay skewers all made by me. I have attached a pic at the top.

So yesterday morning I marinated my ribs with my secret sauce before I set off to work..


I made chow mein to go with the ribs as I have a fussy eater in my house called Jamie so I left out the shallots. I just let him pick out what green food he's not keen on as long he eats the bulk...so that's good enough for me.

As you can see the dinner was delish, Jamie and even my bulldog Major Johnson had a small taste of noodle and was happy with it. Although Major J eats raw brussels sprouts.


So what to plan for my next cuisine.  I have no idea. I know Jamie with opt for a chimichanga.

I am clearly obsessed by cooking and sometimes have to be dragged out by Jamie who tells me "no more get out the kitchen" . 

Look out for my next update and follow me on my own blog.

Bettsie
http://bettsie.blogspot.com/

New Guest Blogger from Baking With Bettsie

I write and talk way too much that this needs to be applied to a blog. Unfortunate for you all I say.
Here I will bore you with Grammaphone speak and most of all, my cooking skills. I hope this blog will just make you all hungry.

As everybodys knows on facebook I am making a Mexican feast with a few untraditional dishes such as carrot cake. I am pestered too much not to have it on the menu.

Blue margaritas, Chimichangas, Fajitas with my secret mix, Chips and home made dips (Guacamole, hoummus with a twist, Coriander and lemon dip, Salsa) Arroz con Leche and Lemon Mousse for dessert and as requested carrot cake...

 Bettsie

http://bettsie.blogspot.com/

TV lesbians of the 80's

Continuing with our 80's adventure, here's some TV stars of the age we speculate could have been moved to the dark side....

Christine Cagney, Cagney & Lacey
Not actually stated to be a lesbian but was hard-nosed, single and drank too much so all the signs are there.
Bev ‘The Butcher’ Baker, Prisoner Cell Block H
Could have chosen any of the cast really but we like Bev the Butcher the most. Died from using a hypodermic needle full of air. A sad end for this brilliant criminal mastermind.

Elsye Keaton, Family Ties
Real life lesbian (shocker) Meredith Baxter played the part of a liberal hippy in US show Family Ties. Damn hippies.

‘Quaint’ Irene, Mapp & Lucia
Boho artist who dressed like an Eton school boy and lived with her maid. Rode a motorbike. Socialist

Cecily Meldrum, You Rang m’Lord
Liked to wear men’s clothes and play sports. Always hanging around with her ‘chum’ Penelope. Also a socialist.

Dotty, The Raggy Dolls
Bossy, artistic, liked dungarees
Mrs Dingle, Camberwick Green
Very prim and repressed. Liked rules, the postal service and dogs

Penfold, Danger Mouse
Definitely a lesbian in disguise. Didn’t fool us

Coach Katrina, Galaxy High
You wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of this centaur

Melanie and Martina The Twins, Fun House
Only in the 80's for a year but worth a mention because we all wished it...come on, you know you did.

Thursday, 3 March 2011

The Candy Bar: New Lesbian reality TV show on Channel 5




Following the success of recent US lesbian reality shows such as The Real L Word, Channel 5 has commission a new lesbian reality show called ‘The Candy Bar’ set in London. The plot will be based around the relaunch of the London lesbian bar The Candy bar and also follow a select group of lesbians as they go about their day. The Soho based lesbian reality show is due to start this spring and will follow “the lives and loves of a group of young lesbians who work hard and party even harder”. We hope they have time to sit down and enjoy a good old cup of tea.

Rumour is that Big Brother star Shabby Katchadourian will be featured in the show along with Dannii Orsii who is a 21 year old model/pole dancer and her girlfriend Lucy who works as a bouncer on the door.

“Viewers will be drawn into a world filled with drama and unique characters. The series aims to explore the day-to-day experiences of the girls as they search for the universal themes that affect us all. From searching for the ideal date to finding a flat mate, changing careers to relationships breaking down. We follow the Candy Bar girls on their journey as they search for the answers all set against the backdrop of a vibrant city” (Press release)

According to channel 5’s website the series will feature owner Gary Henshaw, locally known for his portfolio of gay clubs in central London. Having only recently acquired The Candy Bar, Henshaw is on hand to keep things calm as chaos threatens to overrun the club’s relaunch. My own memories of Candy Bar is that it reminded me of an extended corridor with nothing much else about it really.
Jeff Ford, the channel’s director of programmes has said that Candy Bar Girls will be made in the spirit of serious sociological inquiry:

“This is not about being salacious: it’s about our mission to reflect Britain and maybe people who haven’t been reflected, perhaps ever” said Ford of the series.

I find this hard to believe. I really doubt the people even in this programme give a shit about sociological inquiry...tits and ass will be the priority I'm sure.

Andrew O’Connell, Channel 5’s Head of Factual said: “With this brand new commission we highlight a world that has very little screen presence in the past and we want to bring a glimpse of their lives straight into the homes of our viewers”

I can’t help but feel that they are missing something. I am not doubting that people will watch this programme and I am not doubting that the viewing figures will be high. But let’s be honest, there is such a lack of programmes about lesbians or made by lesbians that we will in fact watch ANYTHING that has anything with anything remotely gay in it.

Ilene Chaiken remarked in one her interviews that when she started making the L word, she knew she was on a long journey but she really thought that by the end of it, by the end of all these seasons of the L word that there would be a whole host of Lesbian programmes out there. That the L word would become one of many. This isn’t the case. We are still in a drought when it comes to programmes about Lesbians. We are resigned to swooning over small characters in odd TV shows having a momentary ‘lesbian fling’ only to return to their long term boyfriend saying it was just some crazy blips. Lesbians are blips here and there.  Right now I am obsessed with the status of Arizona and Callie’s up and down relationship in Greys Anatomy because right now this all we have right now on TV. Nothing has really changed.

What was so good about The Real L word is that it gave us a glimpse of something exciting and the women featured in the show were by and large inspiring and successful. For the first time we saw good looking lesbians with careers who were going out there in the world and making their mark. Do we really want to spy into the lives of some bar girls from sticky floors of The Candy Bar? Yeah, I do  because I’m nosey and it has lesbians but let’s not assume I’m watching this because I think it’s a decent TV show… I wish there were some programmes about lesbian dentists, doctors, lawyers, TV executives, designers etc.  Something to inspire us. The truth is, every bar has  ______ girls and the reality is that many of them live quite sad lives. They come and go, they dance on the podiums, they DJ for a while, they serve drinks but really most of them want to get the hell out of there. These plays suck you dry. The wages are terrible and the hours are awful and the owners don’t give a shit about you. Let’s hope this programme shows something other than body shots and tequila slammers. 

Wednesday, 2 March 2011

Wordy Rappinghood



Chicks on Speed remix of the Tom Tom Club's 1981 classic 'Wordy Rappinghood'


They make music, they make art and they have a lot to say about women. Plus they're mad as bats. Brilliant! Take a look at their website here http://www.chicksonspeed.com/

Canal Street

Recently I have been thinking about the state of Manchester's gay village. It is true that bars do come and go. Some venues seem cursed for example 10 Canal Street where Bar 38 stood, for a while AXM and now Crunch and then who knows what now I'm so confused. Then of course the equally cursed 46 Sackville St where once Gaia stood and then Tropeiro with a number of bars in between. For some reason or another these bars and these locations have been unable to make a real connection with village regulars. No one really bat an eyelid when Gaia disappeared or will do when Tropeiro closes it's doors. There was nothing really memorable about these places.


Recently, however, Spirit has closed it's doors...the longstanding staple of the village. Years ago it would have seemed unthinkable that this giant could have closed. 3 enormous floors with bars on every level and a large roof terrace. It used to be that a night out in the village was entwined with Spirit. Spirit was an integral component that made up the stable back bone of the village. Whether this is a permanent move or temporary I do not know. It's sister bar View further up Canal St seems so far unaffected. I won't shed a tear for either though. Both are boring places with no atmosphere, blocked toilets and it will make no difference to my life if they open again or remain the same.


The Village has changed and it's clientele have changed. The success of the Northern Quarter shows the type of bars that people really want. Some new places in the village are recognising this. New bars like The Molly House show that people want something more stylish and high end. Not everyone wants to slum it with sticky floors and dance floors that stink of shit from the nearby blocked toilets. They want expensive vodkas, revealed brick, thoughtful design, attention to detail, niche ideas and will vote with their feet.


It's not all about money either before you shout, it's about interesting nights with an edge not the same old crappy dance music for gay men in a k hole. The success of nights such as Homoelectric and Bollox which is packed full of eclectic people not all with the same hair cut and All Saints outfit has shown that there is a demand for it.


In London, they seem to have embraced this desire for new and interesting nights that experiment with different venues and types of music...if only Manchester could emulate this.

Sexy Scrabble


http://drewcapener.com/?/projects/scrabble-1/

If you're spending a(nother) cosy night in front of the fire with your loved one, think about playing with this beautiful design for a new scrabble board. If enough people show interest, who knows, they might actually make it. And if you get bored, there's always sex scrabble.

Ida Maria - Queen Of The World

Five seconds of every number one since 1983

Five Seconds Of Every #1 Pop Single Part 2 by mjs538

An Honest Lesbian Relationship

Toyota Commercial - Funny Lesbian (Canada)

Pop





Today I’ve been thinking (not on work’s time obviously) about lesbians and music.  I couldn’t work out whether its possible to talk about music that lesbians like or whether sexuality has nothing to do with it. I still don’t know but I think it is possible to list the music which is played in lesbian bars up and down the land and which girls seem to go nuts over.  Kelly Clarkson, Pink and Katy Perry for example.  Maybe lesbians like gutsy female singers.  I suppose they also like girls who sing about kissing girls and that’s all there is to it. But whenever I hear ‘I kissed a girl’ I can’t help feeling sad for everyone jumping around singing about cherry chapsticks (have you ever kissed anyone who tasted of a chapstick?  If so, gross).  I’m sorry to tell you but Katy Perry is not gay and despite kissing a girl one time in a club, never will be. She’s making money off the fact that drunk straight girls like to tongue each other because it turns guys on.  Its quite insulting and not lesbian in any way.  You might argue that I’m being grumpy and its all just a bit of fun.  Maybe you’re right because I’m usually stood outside smoking. Anyway, I don’t know the answer.  Obviously many different girls like lots of different music but if there is anything trending at the moment its that female singers are more opinionated, fired up and angry in pop music and maybe this is what lesbians like.  If so, its no bad thing.

Hollie-tron

Tuesday, 1 March 2011

Oscars: A great year for lesbians.



Yes Lisa Cholodenko’s gay movie The Kids Are Alright about a lesbian couple and their children who meet their sperm donor father (plus all the complications ) was nominated for numerous awards but even without this movie -  as a whole there was a very gay vibe at this years Oscar ceremony. Several times I had to double take during the ceremony and think did I just see that. Did that just happen?


The night opened with gags from James Franco and Anne Hathaway.
 With Hathaway shouting “its been a great year for lesbians”.

Franco: The kids are all right.

Hathaway: Lesbians

Franco: Black Swan

Hathaway: Dancing lesbians

Franco: Toy Story 3

Hathaway: Where’s the dad?

The audience laughed and it was a good joke. But that was about as good as it got, as a whole, the co-hosts were criticised by many, most saying that Anne Hathaway was trying too hard and James Franco was pretty much in a coma!  Franco did very little to engage with the audience. I felt sorry for Hathaway who had to almost carry the Oscars show on her own with this pretty boy who looked like he was half asleep. It was disappointing.

 When Billy Crystal came on to present an award and did a mini monologue everyone was thinking ‘please stay…and fix this mess!’. At one point, Franco came out in drag and even that wasn’t very funny, he just stood there and said very little. Hathaway a natural with comic timing – tried her best but really she was dragging this lump around on her back most of the time. The majority of tweets related to the Oscars repeatedly asked whether Franco was stoned or bored as the night went on and also asked whether Hathaway was drunk or high. I question the former …yeah may he was stoned…but the latter, I think…what else could she do? The guy simply didn’t seem up to the job so she tried harder…who can blame her?.

Melissa Leo won the first Oscar for best supporting actress in her role in The Fighter. Her dress was a doily that looked like it was made out of cardboard. No literally, she looked like she had just whisked it off some grandma’s table. Almost immediately she said Fuck – and gasped covering her mouth! If anything this just made her more endearing! There is nothing like some unnecessary swearing to make people feel more laid back and get laughs from the audience. Another link to this tiny lesbian world, Melissa Leo had played Helena Peabody’s ex wife on the The L Word.






Anne Hathaway had numerous costume changes and her first one was a full tuxedo which many have said was her best outfit of the night. Women in suits, well no one can argue with that! Franco, then followed coming out dressed in pink as Marilyn Monroe but didn’t seem at all enthusiastic about it. Matt Zoller Seitz wrote that the problem was that the crowd at the Kodak Theatre took entirely too long to register that it was him. And when they did  figure it out - somewhere around the time that Franco said 'I just got a text message from Charlie Sheen!' - they just sort of tittered politely. Again, we dreamed….wouldn’t it be so nice to have an equal to Hathaway, someone funnier, someone with a bit of bite and not just some plain smile that he’s been coasting on his whole career. Even the boulder from ‘127 hours’ seemed to have more personality and would have done a better job!




The most unexpected and biggest lesbian moment was when Lora Hirschberg, an out lesbian won an Oscar for Sound Mixing on Inception with her colleagues Ed Novick and Gary.A.Rizzo. As Hirschberg got up, the camera had a great view of her kissing her wife just before she walked down the aisle to the stage. Again, in their acceptance speech for the group “ Thank you to our families and wonderful wives: Susan, Laura and Jennifer”. It was a giant punch in the air, it felt like we had just stuffed the giant oxygen canister into the mouth of Jaws…ready to explode. A slap in the face to every bible basher and gay hater across America and yet it all felt so natural, easy and so right.






Hilary Swank winner of the Oscar for Best Actress for ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ (1999) came on to introduce Kathryn Bigelow,last year’s winner, the first ever female best director. It is hard to believe that so much time has past since Boys Don’t Cry, one presenter stated it had been 11 years since Swank had won her Oscar. Bigelow then presented  Tom Hooper with the Oscar for Best Director for The King’s Speech. In his acceptance speech he talked about the ‘triangle of manlove’ between himself, Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush.






Josh Brolin and Javier Bardem came out to present an award dressed in matching white suits. As they walked out hand in hand they did a playful dance and exchanged a kiss. However viewers never saw the kiss as the producers made the decision to cut the scene from the dance that the viewers saw. The camera instead focused on Penelope Cruz's reaction to the event and the cut away lasted until the dancing was over. The website AfterElton says it seems unlikely that ABC would find a kiss between Bardem and Brolin to be something that needed censoring as back in 2006 there was a Brokeback Mountain spoof featuring Jon Stewart and George Clooney in bed. On the other hand, the cutaway to Cruz seemed awkward". The question has been asked as to whether the producers of the Oscars panicked! 






Natalie Portman then won Best Actress for her role in Black Swan. Her acceptance speech was easily one of the most genuine and well constructed of the night but no one seemed to be in any doubt that she would win. She failed to thank Mila Kunis but this was probably by accident. Oddly, there was mention of ‘Michelle Rodriguez’ unfortunately this is not the same Rodriguez from Lost and every other lady punch up movie going. We can only dream that in her spare time, Portman goes round there for movie nights and body shots. Instead, this Michelle Rodriguez is a physical therapist who appeared on the film and helped Natalie nurse a dislocated rib she sustained while shooting the film. As Natalie mentioned it is often these small members who make up the cast but play an integral role who are often forgotten, so she made it a point to mention her…which was sweet.



Portman was wearing a purple dress by Rodarte which caused some controversy as she is supposed to be the face of Dior. This led to questioning over whether, Portman who is Jewish and born in Israel had decided to breach her contract with the fashion house. John Galliano, Dior’s creative director, only days earlier had been suspended from his job due to anti-Semitic remarks in a bar which appeared on film and is now currently all over the internet. She did not answer questions related to this topic and the transcript of the press conference omitted the questioning from the record.


Collin Firth won Best Actor for The Kings Speech and one couldn’t help but notice the incredible difference in accents between him and Christian Bale who won ‘Best Supporting Actor’ for The Fighter. I could actually believe that Firth was a real King, perhaps a distant Duke or exiled Prince and that Bale was a window cleaner or a chimney sweep. I think everyone in England, suddenly stepped back and went ‘Is he British?’….’What’s with the accent?’

The last award of the night did not fail either, as producer Ian Canning thanked his ‘boyfriend Ben’ in his acceptance speech as he won the award for ‘Best Picture’ for Kings Speech.

As Hathaway said at the beginning…It’s a great year for lesbians!

80's revival

Like everyone else we’ve been having an 80’s revival at Sulk.  We were born in this glorious decade and as such we’ve been indulging in a lot faux nostalgia, for things we don’t really remember because we were too young but appear in all our family photos, video cabinets and attics.  There’s been an explosion of interest in everything 80’s from fashion, to t.v. to music.  Kids who weren’t even a twinkle in their parent’s giant-spectacled eyes are now all wearing clothes hugely influenced by the style of the time, and yes, they mostly look pretty cool.  I don’t suppose that many teenagers now have seen a lot of the big films of the 80’s to really know what people wore, which seems curious to us.  Who would be wearing high top trainers and body warmers if it wasn’t for Marty McFly?  Why would anyone choose to wear a giant bat-wing sleeve if not for Molly Ringwald?  But I guess the people who design for H&M and Topshop have seen these films and can remember how cool these teenage film icons were in the day.  Even though it is peculiar to dress in a costume from an era you had no experience of, I’m glad the 80’s has been back in for so long now.  If only because it saves us from the hideously ugly 60’s and even more fashion vomit-inducing 70’s. 
It has to be said that lesbians love their high tops and haircuts, a lot of which are straight out of 80’s post-punk culture.  A lot of girls are looking hot in Ben Sherman and braces.  Many more have adopted the oversized stonewashed denim shirt and leggings as a wardrobe staple.  And the best thing about all of this is that most of these 80’s gems go really well with the lesbian’s favourite item, the Converse All Star (baseball boot not shoe, obviously).

So we thought we’d get the ball rolling with our appreciation of all things 80’s and have a look at some of our favourite things moments of the decade.  There will be at least one million omissions from this list so if there’s anything you want to add, please do.  We’ll start with music.

Music

Hip-Hop
Forget pretty much all the music we currently call hip-hop, in which big men shout about how much stuff they have.  There is nothing hip-hop about it, its all nonsense.  Back in the day things were different.  Hip-Hop and breakbeats emerged in the 80’s and grew into rap.   It was innovative, brilliant and dangerous.  It was protest music but it was also fun music, which is why it appealed at a time in America when large groups of people were fighting for basic civil freedoms.  The image was all about cool and a lot of fashion and advertising now has been influenced by 80’s hip hop.  Here’s five tracks to remind us of the glory days, before 50 Cent etc turned hip-hop into ear-assaulting narcissism;
1.    I Got It Made – Special Ed
2.    Human Beat Box – Fat Boys
3.    Wild Wild West– Kool Moe Dee
4.    Beat Street – Grand Master Flash
5.    Double Dutch Bus – Frankie Smith

Post-Punk
Bands like The Cure and Joy Division were massive in Britain in the 80’s.  The lyrics were weird, the clothes were even weirder and they said everything most kids ever wanted to but couldn’t.  A lot of the music was borne out of a time of massive contrast between the 80’s boom years and mass unemployment, not unlike Britain today – which perhaps explains why everyone is walking around dressed like Morrissey.  I wish the indie scene could be just as interesting now.  But it seems like all we have is Coldplay.  Anway, here’s some tracks which I thought sum it up quite well.
1.    Pictures of You – The Cure
2.    Life in a Northern Town – The Dream Academy
3.    Johnny Come Home – Fine Young Cannibals
4.    Bring On The Dancing Horses – Echo and the Bunnymen
5.    Lloyd Cole – My Bag

Dance
The influence of the 80’s is everywhere in dance music at the moment.  Bands like The Human League are as (almost as) big as they ever were and Ministry of Sound put out electronic 80’s compilations that charted for months.  Everyone, including La Roux is loving their synth (“we all play synth!”) and a lot of dance DJ’s are showing their love for the beginnings of the genre by including tunes in monthly mixes and club sets.  Electronic music in the UK grew out of and into a more alternative scene which made for some pretty interesting styles of singing and fashion and is seen everywhere at the moment.  Dance music was also hugely popular in Europe with a massive input from Italy in the form of Italo-Disco.  Many obscure tracks from this time are being re-discovered and organized into compilations.  Electronic music in 80’s America took a different form more related to 70’s disco.  There’s a lot of love at the moment for dance that came out of New York in the 80’s, which was closely associated with the emerging gay scene and flamboyant warehouse drag parties.  Chicago house, which had an edgier sound to the New York scene has also been a massive influence on today’s dance.  So to round up this hugely varied category which loosely falls under the umbrella of dance, here’s my top five tracks;
1.    Orient Express – Wish Key
2.    Situation - Yazoo
3.    Roots – Richie Havens
4.    Fire in my Heart – Escape from New York
5.    White Horse – Just Say No!